

TÄLLBERG-SNF-ELIASSON GLOBAL LEADERSHIP PRIZE



TÄLLBERG-SNF-ELIASSON GLOBAL LEADERSHIP PRIZE

GLOBAL LEADERS AND GLOBAL SOLUTIONS FOR GLOBAL PROBLEMS!

OVERVIEW

The Tällberg-SNF-Eliasson Global Leadership Prizes are awarded annually to outstanding leaders who demonstrate the willingness and capacity to address the complexity of 21st-century challenges and whose work is global in aspiration or implication and is rooted in universal values.

The world faces accelerating climate change, disruptive technology, increasing conflict and war, massive numbers of displaced people seeking safety, all wrapped in the the breakup of the post-war global order that framed and facilitated the great human advances of the past decades.

Extrapolating today's conditions suggests a grim, dystopian future. But the good news is that great leadership can bend the arc of history.







Andrew Bastawrous, 2023 Winner

What kind of leaders are we seeking?

- Leaders who are innovative, courageous, • dynamic, ethical and who understand global challenges require global solutions.
- Leaders who seize the moment instead of waiting for politicians.
- Leaders who recognize that borders and • barriers—whether national, sectoral or cognitive—are inimical to addressing, never mind overcoming, today's challenges.
- Leaders who reject the lengthening list of "isms"-nationalism, exceptionalism, racism, wokeism etc. —that substitute for thought today.

The Prize, in its 10th year, has celebrated 32 global leaders. Those leaders have been honored not only for what they have already accomplished but for their commitment and capacity to continue seeking the kinds of positive change our societies demand.

"I see myself as an opportunity creator. Someone who recognizes talent, creates opportunities, opens doors, and then holds them open in the hopes that people will surpass me and go on to do the incredible things they are destined to do."

— Asha de Vos, Sri Lanka, 2021 Tällberg-SNF-Eliasson Global Leadership Prize Winner Marine Biologist and Ocean Educator "Without passion, nothing happens; without compassion, the wrong things happen."

TÄLLBERG-SNF-ELIASSON GLOBAL LEADERSHIP PRIZE

> — Jan Eliasson, Former Deputy Secretary-General of the United Nations

FOSTERING GLOBAL LEADERSHIP IN TIMES OF CHANGE

The board of the Tällberg Foundation—with the fulsome support of the Stavros Niarchos Foundation (SNF)—decided the Foundation's core purpose must be to identify, honor, nurture and network great global leaders. The kind of women and men who understand the challenges, who take the risks and who-above all-produce impact.

In that spirit, we established the Tällberg-SNF-Eliasson Global Leadership Prize in 2015, building on ten years of recognizing principled global leadership. The prize honors the Stavros Niarchos Foundation, an innovative grant-making foundation whose support makes it possible, and Jan Eliasson, one of the most accomplished global diplomats of our era. Both SNF and Jan share Tällberg's deep commitment to encouraging positive global change.



Elias Mastoras, 2022 Emerging Leader Winner Charlotte Vansgaard, Partner at ReD Associates focused on driving social impact in both nonprofit and commercial organisations and a 2024 Prize Juror Jared Genser, 2020 Winner Yevgenia Albats, 2022 Winner



Rodrigo Rubido Alonso, Becca Heller, Bright Simons, Fiorenzo Omenetto, 2017 Prize winners at The Paley Center, New York.

ELIGIBILITY

Prize winners may be nominated online by anyone, anywhere and are ultimately selected by a secret ballot of a jury composed of accomplished global leaders.

- Individuals, not organizations, are eligible for nomination.
- Self-nominations will not be accepted.
- Winners will be celebrated at-and are expected to • attend-an award ceremony next January.

Submit nominations on the Tällberg-SNF-Eliasson Global Leadership Prize website.

https://tallberg-snf-eliasson-prize.org/nominate/

SELECTING THE WINNERS

Nominations are reviewed, researched, and vetted by Tällberg staff and a pre-jury of global leaders; the process is designed to define a pool of nominations for consideration by the full jury. The Tällberg-SNF-Eliasson Global Leadership Jury is composed of leaders from different countries, disciplines, experiences and backgrounds. Ultimately, they consider scores of nominations and select winners.

That selection process entails successive rounds of secret balloting, which means that all jurors have equal weight in the selection process. In effect, each year's jury defines its own criteria, and every nominee is judged individually.



Christiana Figueres, Sunitha Krishnan, Thuli Madonsela, Celina de Sola 2016 Prize ceremony at the De Balie, Amsterdam.

- Leaders from any discipline and any part of the world who meet the core criteria of the Prize are eligible.
- Three \$50,000 Prizes are awarded annually.
- Winners become part of a network of leaders working for positive change at the global level.



"Leadership is not about how you enforce; it's about how you impact."

 — Christian Ntizimira, Rwanda, 2021 winner of the Tällberg-SNF-Eliasson Global Leadership Prize, Emerging Leader Category
Founder and Executive Director of the African Center for Research on End-of-Life Care

WINNERS

2015

Jamila Afghani



Martin von Hildebrand



2016

Christiana Figueres



Sunitha Krishnan



2017

Becca

Heller

Bright

Simons





Fiorenzo Omenetto



Rodrigo Rubido Alonso



Sharmeen **Obaid-Chinoy**

2018



Rafael Yuste



Cardinal Dieudonné Nzapalainga, Plateforme des Confessions Religieuses de Centrafrique (PCRC)



Imam Omar Kobine Layama, PCRC



Pastor Nicolas Guérékoyame-Gbangou, PCRC



2019

Anne Goldfeld



Faustin Linyekula



Saul Griffith



2020

Genser



Jared



Nithya Ramanathan



Sylvia Earle



Asha de

2021



Tero Mustonen



Pashtana Durrani **Emerging Leader**

Sam Muller



Christian Nitzimira Emerging Leader

TAKE THE NEXT STEP AND NOMINATE A GREAT LEADER

tallberg-snf-eliasson-prize.org/nominate



Yevgenia

Albats

Gladys

Vos

2022





Elias Mastoras **Emerging Leader**



Kalema-Zikusoka





Emerging Leader



Chido Govera **Emerging Leader**

2023



Meg Lowman



Andrew Bastawrous



The Tällberg Foundation, launched in 1981, exists to explore the issues that are challenging —and changing— our societies. Today, those challenges are profound: the world that we have known since the mid-20th century, which produced unprecedented peace as well as human advance, is changing at a pace and in directions that threaten to evolve towards Orwellian dystopia.

But forces for "good" still exist and need to be renewed, made more muscular and more effective. The Foundation aspires to be part of that process.

Tällberg's work program focuses on understanding how to re-inject ethics into leadership; re-establish the legitimacy of governance; and manage, instead of being managed by, disruptive technologies, climate change, mass migration and other phenomena. We aim to contribute to the new thinking —and new acting— required by this moment in history.

Learn more at tallbergfoundation.org and tallberg-snf-eliasson-prize.org.



ΙΔΡΥΜΑ ΣΤΑΥΡΟΣ ΝΙΑΡΧΟΣ STAVROS NIARCHOS FOUNDATION

The Stavros Niarchos Foundation (SNF) is one of the world's leading private, international philanthropic organizations, making grants to nonprofit organizations in the areas of arts and culture, education, health and sports, and social welfare. SNF funds organizations and projects worldwide that aim to achieve a broad, lasting, and positive impact for society at large, and exhibit strong leadership and sound management. The Foundation also supports projects that facilitate the formation of public-private partnerships as an effective means for serving the public welfare.

Since 1996, the Foundation has committed more than \$3.7 billion through over 5,400 grants to nonprofit organizations in more than 130 countries around the world.

Learn more at SNF.org.